On how I’ve meal-prepped

A friend from a while back who was into bodybuilding first instructed me with diet advice by saying, “only eat what’s natural.” When I was 117 lbs, I followed this general statement and I lost around 10 lbs easily.  So, this was generally good advice. However, I didn’t want to stop there, because I still felt heavy (especially for my height), and I wasn’t satisfied with how my body felt or looked yet (I’m 5’0″ for reference).

And recently, a girlfriend asked me for some help because she’s trying to lose a little weight before summer starts so that she can feel a little more confident about her body in a bikini. So she asked me what I ate and what my meal plan was like when I wanted to lose those final 10lbs and reach my goal weight of 97lbs.

That final weight loss? It was a huge struggle for me. I incorporated a lot of things I’d never tried before, because that weight was stubborn and did NOT want to come off. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but even 5lbs on a small person like me can look like a lot. I lifted heavy, did fasted cardio, sat in a sauna, the whole 9 yards. But what made the most impact was meal prepping and watching my diet, and changing my lifestyle to a more healthy one. And, the weight never came back. So, without further ado, here was my summer 2015 & 2016 meal plan!

*Disclaimer: if you chose to scale this to your body’s needs, be aware that it still might not work for you. Everybody is different. Some foods make some people bloat, while others do not. Some people are allergic to things. It’s all a matter of finding out what works for you and why. Not to mention, you really need to keep track of your macros (see Tristan’s post for iifym). This plan was extremely strict and it can easily become boring. And, I have no experience as a nutritionist or dietician, so take what I write here with a whole damn salt shaker rather than a grain of salt. Not to mention, results also come from exercising in conjunction WITH a meal plan… there’s no magic fix. You can lose weight by dieting, but if you want that weight loss to persist, you need to create a long-term lifestyle shift.

**AND BE ADVISED THAT THIS IS TAILORED TO MY BODY SIZE, HEIGHT, WEIGHT, AND GOALS!

Breakfast: no later than 30 minutes after waking up!

  • 3 tbsp of egg whites
  • 1 cup green veggies
  • a slice of Ezekiel toast

**Sometimes, I’d add in a recipe for an apple cider vinegar drink. Drinking this before meals will increase pectin which helps make you feel more satisfied and fuller. HOWEVER, this is extremely acidic, and if you drink too much of it too often, you’re not gonna be happy with your health outcome. Definitely use in moderation.

Snacks: 

  • Healthy things… my most common was an apple + pb or a little pack of yogurt

Lunch: 

  • 3oz of a lean protein (lean protein includes anything like fish, chicken, lean beef, lean turkey… whatever you like! Mix it up otherwise it can get boring)
  • 1/2 an avocado (or another GOOD fat. Nuts like almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, etc. work well here, too.)
  • 1 cup green veggies

Pre & post workout:  

  • 1/2 banana (before)
  • whey protein shake (after)

Dinner:

  • 1 cup brown rice (or another healthy variation, a sweet potato works too!!)
  • 3oz of lean protein
  • 1 cup of veggies

Before bed: 30 MINUTES BEFORE! No earlier and no later!

  • Casein protein shake

If any of you guys try this and scale it up to your body’s needs, let me know how it works for you and if you like it!!!

If you liked this post, please click the button on the right side of the page and subscribe!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

