On a “LIT” pre-workout

Yeah, the name of the supplement is literally, “LIT.” LOL. I know, right? It’s made by “Beyond Raw” and is distributed by GNC. The idea behind the products in the beyond raw line is that they’re based on science and formulated in a chemistry lab, without any of the vague names some other supplements include in their formulas/labels. So, do they really work? Is the pre-workout really lit?

I’m pretty much a regular at the local GNC. As any other customer, I get some samples Processed with VSCO with a5 presethere and there. This one in particular intrigued me because, as you guys know, I’m a science nerd. So the premise behind the line spoke to me. I love transparency when it comes to supplements, and if you’re advertising that in addition to formulating your products in a chemistry lab… well, ya got me. Hook, line, and sinker.

Right on the package you can see the contents of the pre-workout. You have 250 mg of caffeine, 3g of L-citrulline, and 3.2 g of beta-alanine (if you wanna know more about what these names mean, click here). On the back of the little package, you can see there’s actually 1.5 g of creatine monohydrate, and a bunch of other minor ingredients with fad names, like “NeuroFactor TM,” and there is also a longgggg list of “other ingredients,” which, if you ask me, kinda goes against the whole “transparency” thing. Although there isn’t a proprietary blend listed. But, whatever. I tried the supplement so you don’t have to, and here are my thoughts.

  • It tastes amazing. I had blue raspberry flavor, and it reminded me of a blue jolly rancher. SO GOOD. I’m impressed. There wasn’t an aftertaste, and my mouth wasn’t stained by the dye.
  • It hit me within 8 minutes of drinking it. No, not on an empty stomach. But remember I’m 5′ and 95 lbs, so maybe that has something to do with it.
  • Lots of beta-alanine tingle. A little more than I typically like, but I definitely felt it. If that’s what you’re looking for, look no further. I felt like I was on fire. Or like my entire body had pins and needles. Ugh.
  • Lots of energy. It wasn’t jittery energy, though. I didn’t feel like I was too pumped up on caffeine. I just felt focused. It felt like I could laser in on my music and on my sets and get my lift done, which is what I like in a pre-workout.
  • No crash. Or, at least, I didn’t feel one.
  • My pump wasn’t anything special. Also didn’t feel like I was able to maximize my strength, which is something they advertise. Other supplements did this better.
  • It kept me up all night. I took it around 9 (so it’s probably my own fault) but I was up until 2 or 2:30. This typically doesn’t happen because I usually wake up early and am exhausted by the end of my day. Didn’t like this part.

The product is sold for $40 for 30 servings and $70 for 60 servings. Do I feel like this is worth the money? Not sure. It’s an OK price point. The line itself is affordable, which is a big plus for me, but the pre-workout felt average, or slightly above average. There wasn’t an aspect that stood out to me that made the product unique, other than the taste. However, this is a largely subjective topic, and no supplement is perfect. Overall I’d give it a 7.5/10.

Leave a Reply

