On a limitless drug

You know the movie Limitless with everyone’s favorite hunk Bradley Cooper, where he find a magical pill that makes him infinitely smarter and more capable? Well, I found the real life version of that.

Well, not really. Kind of close, though! One of my favorite supplement companies, Performix, sells a product called “TCP,” which stands for Timed Cognitive Primer. The description on the box reads as follows:

Time-Release Brain Enhancement

  • Sharper Mental Clarity*
  • Focus Retention and Mental Energy*
  • Sustains Memory Performance*

Yes, very sensational. I know. I was juuuust as skeptical as you are right now, reading this. I honestly thought it was just an expensive placebo (30 servings at a whopping $65). However, being the fan of Performix that I am, and keeping in mind that GNC has an absolutely ridiculously great return policy, I wanted to give it a try.

performix

The ingredients: Performix™ TERRA Pod Time-Release Cognitive Matrix 1,165 mg ** Brain Focus Matrix: Medium Chain Triglycerides, Caffeine Anhydrous (175 mg), Theanine, Theacrine (as Teacrine®), Huperzine A (Huperzia serrata) extract (whole herb) [Std. 1% Huperzine]; Brain Energizer Matrix: Sensoril® Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract (root/leaf) [Std. 8% Withanolides], Mucuna pruriens extract (seed) [Std. 40% L-Dopa], Cognizin® Citicoline, Bacopa monnieri extract (whole herb) [Std. 20% Bacosides], Alpha-glycerophosphocholine. 

In plain English: appetite suppressant, caffeine, a substance similar to caffeine, a plant that’s used as a memory booster (holistic medicine, even used for Alzheimer’s!), a plant used for its stress-relieving and mental focus properties, pre-cursor to dopamine (to make you happy!), Cognizin supplement (claims to improve mental focus and energy), an herb used to combat stress, and a precursor to acetylcholine.

Yeah yeah yeah. Who cares, Amanda. Get to the point.

OK, obviously I liked this product enough to give it the honor of being my first supplement review. That long list of ingredients I recited?! WOW! I took two capsules (the recommended dose) at around 11 am. Within an hour, I immediately felt more awake, focused, alert and energized. It was like I’d had an amazing night’s sleep (I didn’t) and had two cups of coffee (nope). It actually worked so well, it lifted me out of the two-week-long funk I’d been suffering from.

One area of improvement for TCP: I am 5′, 97 lbs, so two capsules left me feeling slightly jittery at first, and that’s the recommended dosage. For those with low caffeine tolerance, or of smaller size, I would recommend taking only one capsule, or at least starting off that way to see how you feel. Another downside is the fact that it’s kind of pricy. A bottle only comes with a month’s worth supply (60 pills), which is $60-70, depending on where you buy it. That means you’re paying $2 a day, or $1 per pill, pretty much. Sheesh. I guess you really are paying for quality. But still! That’s a little crazy for a broke college kid like me.

How do I feel? It’s now almost 11pm tonight, and I’m starting to feel tired– which is great, because I typically have insomnia. Not sure if this is due to the product or the lack of sleep I got last night, but I can definitely attest to the fact that there is no crash from any of the caffeine/theacrine, and I’m a little less focused than I was in the beginning of the day, but still a tiny bit more than usual. This is probably due to the fact that the capsules are filled those little time-release beads. By now I’d normally be watching Netflix, but instead, I’m sitting here and writing a blog post.

I saw an increase in productivity throughout my day today. I cleaned my entire apartment, did a few loads of laundry, went to class, finished my homework, studied for my exam tomorrow, finished filling out some paperwork, went to some meetings, made some phone calls, and wrote a blog post. That’s pretty good if you ask me!

Do I think it’s worth the money? That remains to be seen. I am going to continue to use it, so I will keep you updated. I’m hoping this isn’t just a one-time-thing. For a girl with a schedule like mine, I could use something to give me a little boost.

Thanks for reading. Let me know how you like the supplement review, and if I should do more of these! And definitely leave a comment if you’ve taken the supplement, I’d love to hear your thoughts and your experience!

 

 

Leave a Reply

